My Favorite Song Today

I would normally post the video here:

Except that I can’t find it anywhere, and in my search found, instead, that the musician went on a bit of a homophobic rant during a show in San Fransisco this past March. I’m still posting the lyrics, but with the explicit understanding that I do not support homophobic rants specifically or homophobia generally.

I do support the perpetuation of art which inspires jubilation. I’ve heard Anchorage before and liked it as much then, but when it came on the radio today, I transcended a little bit–above the worry and pretense and great oppressive need to become something. Somehow the delicacies of her voice and the sweet exchange of old friends made me believe for three full minutes that we really are okay, that everything really is alright.

Anchorage
(Michelle Shocked)

I took the time to write to my old friend
I walked across that burning bridge
I mailed my letter off to Dallas but
Her reply came from Anchorage, Alaska

She said, Hey girl it’s about time you wrote
Its been over two years, my old friend
Take me back to the days of the foreign telegrams
And the all night rock and rolling
Hey Chel, We was wild then

Hey Chel you know it’s kinda funny
Texas always seems so big
But you know you’re in the largest State in the Union
When you’re anchored down in Anchorage

Hey girl I think the last time I saw you
Was on me and Leroys wedding day
What was the name of that
Love song you played?
I forgot how it goes
I don’t recall how it goes

Anchorage
Anchored down in Anchorage

Leroy got a better job so we moved
Kevin lost a tooth, he’s starting school
I got a brand new eight month old baby girl
I sound like a housewife
Hey Chel, I think I’m a housewife

Hey girl what’s it like to be in New York
New York City, imagine that
What’s it like to be a skateboard punk rocker?
Leroy says send a picture
Leroy says hello
Leroy says keep on rocking, girl
Yeh keep on rocking

Bernadette Travers’ charming version just about captures it:

Sending happy vibes for your weekend!

signature

 


 


 

3 comments

  1. Good post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on
    this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.

    Kudos!

  2. Great song! And I agree that homophobia is not acceptable. Everything will be alright (:

leave a reply

