Mushroom Stroganoff for the New Readers!

Well, old friends and new, with that little Freshly Pressed episode all settled – let’s get down to it! Who are you? What’s your favorite home-cooked meal? And how do you spend suddenly open Saturday afternoons?

If I could have you over for a real visit, I’d saute eighteen bunches of kale in garlic, pull out my fragile white china, and pop the plastic cork off a cheap bottle of wine. So lucky for you, this is a virtual welcome.

Although I never wrote “get Freshly Pressed” down on a goal list in my diary, I certainly aspired to it. Every time I thought I wrote something really great, I’d roll my eyes back in my head, to look at my brain, and say, “Oh this is definitely the one.” Well the freshly pressing finally happened, but not with a post I ever rolled my eyes about. Thanks for liking it anyway.

Now the honeymoon is over and all the fun had, so we might as well get to know each other.

I’ll start: Mostly, I just want to say I’m thankful for you, happy not to be alone in this, and looking forward to many long days together. Thank you for supporting me and listening to me. Above all, thank you for the marvelous work in your own life and for the inspiration you are to me and others. Keep it up.

mushrooms

CROCKPOT MUSHROOM STROGANOFF

Serves 4 heartily, sometimes with leftovers. Refrigerate coconut milk at least one, but preferably eight hours before opening to ensure the cream has separated from the milk and risen to the top of the can.

Ingredients:

1 1/4 lb baby bella mushrooms, sliced
1 cup vegetable broth
3/4 cup red wine
1 large onion
5-6 cloves garlic
2 tbsp worcestershire
1 tsp dried rosemary
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
2 tbsp mustard
1/2 cup canned coconut milk
1/4 cup organic flour (sub. 2-3 tbsp cornstarch or arrowroot powder)
1 1/2 cups dry lentils

Directions:

Combine everything except mustard, coconut milk, flour and lentils in the crockpot. Cook on low heat 8 hours or 4 hours on high.

At the end of 8 or 4 hours, prepare lentils according to the directions on the bag, boiling about 20 minutes.

Remove coconut milk from the refrigerator, careful not to shake it. Open and scoop out the coconut cream into a separate bowl, reserving the translucent milk for soup or smoothies.

Add mustard, flour, and about 1 cup of hot liquid from the crockpot to the coconut cream. Whisk together until fully combined. Return this mixture to the crockpot and stir well. Cover crockpot and cook on high 15-20 minutes until thickened and bubbly. Add more seasoning to taste.

Serve over drained lentils, and eat knowing you are appreciated!

Enjoy this growing-cold weekend and please, tell me a little bit about yourself below.

signature


 


 

12 comments

  1. That looks delicious, thank you!

  2. This looks AMAZING.

    Hmmm… We typically do our “heavy lifting” cooking on Sundays – homemade chicken and dumplings, gnocchi, roast chicken, etc. This weekend feels like the perfect time to whip up some chili.

  3. That recipe looks awesome! I’m going to try it with Chanterelles which are in season in Oregon right now! So glad to have found your blog on Freshly Pressed!

    My name is Julie, my favorite home-cooked meal is Chilaquiles and we spend any and all free time at the beach with our two pups.

  4. I’m so excited to try this recipe!! I live by my crock pot in the fall and winter. I’m also GF and DF….so that’s exciting too!

    • Yay for gluten and dairy free! Did you make those choices for any particular reason? My hubs and I are trying to reduce his symptoms of Narcolepsy and in the process, I believe I’ve discovered that I am sensitive to dairy. It’s truly remarkable the difference diet makes. And here’s to crockpots!

leave a reply

