Coconut Crusted Zucchini Bread

Every morning I take a long stretch of road to work. Some mornings I get it all to myself. I love the feeling of no one ahead to slow me down and no one behind to pressure me faster. Is it not the most annoying thing on earth when you get behind someone going the speed limit, or under, driving in the left lane? The most annoying thing is when that person refuses to get over.

I was thinking about these people as I was alone on the road this morning. These people must be awfully grounded in their conviction. Whether they are going the speed limit or under it, they must be defiantly convinced that their speed is the right one. Now, I believe in grace and submission much more strongly than I do defiant conviction, but I have something to learn from these people.

When I drive in the left lane, I constantly flick my eyes to the rear-view mirror for fear I might be holding someone up. I am quick to change lanes if someone wants to drive faster than me, even if I’m already going ten over. I think this is a considerate attitude for a driver, but in coming to better understand my boundaries I think there is a fine line in life between being considerate and being overly compliant.

At 23, I have understandably spent a lot of time reflecting on and fretting over what I want to do with the rest of my life. I think the greatest fear is that I will be overly compliant. Not necessarily with a person, but with the pressure from behind me to be practical, to make enough money, to be satisfied with a benefits package.

So I’m taking note of the hated-left-lane driver and finding balance along the fine line.

SAMSUNG

Ingredients
SAMSUNG1 1/2 cups pureed zucchini with skin (one medium zucchini, two small)
1 ripe banana
2 cups organic white flour
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
2 eggs
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup honey (3/4 cup for sweeter bread)
1 teaspoon vanilla
shredded, unsweetened coconut

SAMSUNG

Directions
Preheat oven to 300 degrees for a small loaf pan. Grease pan with coconut oil and set aside.

Remove ends from zucchini, chop and place in food processor. Process into a moist pulp. Transfer pulp into a bowl and add banana. Mash banana into zucchini until fully incorporated. Set aside.

In a large bowl combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda and baking powder. With a fork, lightly mix until fully incorporated. Set aside.

In another bowl, crack eggs and beat with a fork. Add melted coconut oil, honey and vanilla. Whip lightly with a fork until eggs are well beaten.

Create a well in the center of the flour mixture. Add egg mixture. Stir just until mixed. Add zucchini pulp and fold in gently with a spatula. Be careful not to over mix.

Pour batter into baking pan. Top generously with shredded coconut. Using a fork, press the coconut into the batter until partially embedded.

Bake until the top is firm, crust splits and edges brown, about 50-60 minutes. A knife inserted in the middle will not come out clean, as the bread is very moist.

Top with butter and serve warm.

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

May your portions be less and your reflections more.
Happy cooking!

signature

 


 

3 comments

  1. Jane, This reminds me of a banana bread recipe from Jamaica with much the same ingredients and lime juice and grated ginger added. The family always loved it and I will try your version. I have gone GMO free for a year; it is month 2 and I am still hungry for some of the old treats! I will read through for more great eating suggestions. Thank you!
    Suzanne http://gmogone.com

  2. You’ll find that balance, Jane. And the process of weaving between the lines (or changing lanes, if you will) is often what gets us to the place where we find that happy medium. Then life goes and changes, and we have to re-prioritize, shift our boundaries, and change lanes once again. Good thing we’ve got baked treats to see us through!

  3. karem

    Great post Jane. I’ll try this bread…. looks delish.

leave a reply

