Letter for a Sick Friend

My sweet dear friend,

I think about you every day. You haven’t heard much from me, but I’ve been working on your gift basket nearly two weeks. I haven’t called on purpose because I understand there’s a no-crying rule and I feel sure I can’t obey. Not because I’m sad or scared, but because life is unpredictable and shifty and you may feel pain.

We’ve no choice except to stake our whole hope in the power of the Cross, the singular promise that we are being restored now and will be fully restored in the days to come. The right now and not yet.

There’s a very sick girl named Stephanie in our church who has been ill since November 2011. She has not walked or spoken since the start. She’s seen every doctor anyone can think of and they still don’t know a cause. Stephanie’s mother, Cindy, is her primary care taker and a while back she spoke to us during a church service. In her talk, Cindy told us that every time she sees her friend Anne, Anne says to her, “Stephanie is healed in Jesus Christ.”

For a long time, Cindy said she didn’t understand what Anne meant. But in her prayer journey for Stephanie’s healing, Cindy came to realize that in the eyes of God, Stephanie is healed and whole because of Jesus. Healed and whole because we’ve already been redeemed and are being redeemed through the Resurrection of the King. And since our human timeline does not apply to God, He sees the complete, beautiful picture of our final redemption. Each of us is already healed in Jesus Christ!

This truth gives me immense hope in my own life, and especially, in the face of brokenness, sickness, and struggle. You, sweet friend, are already healed in Jesus Christ!

You see, I’m not worried about anything but the meantime. I pray for peace and trust in the meantime. Peace and trust in your heart, in your husband’s and daughters’ hearts. In the hearts of all of us who love you so. You are being and will be healed, in the meantime, I pray for great comfort, enduring strength, and patient waiting.

In Jeremiah 29:10-11 it reads: “This is what the LORD says: ‘When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise to bring you back to this place. For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Sometimes we forget verse 10 (right dt?). Seventy years is a long time–a lifetime to us–but it is no matter to God who knows the beginning and the end. It only means we cannot predict His perfect timing, and we should probably be patient.

I think the most important part of this passage is the promise, the unwavering unchanging covenant faithfulness of God. He says, “I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise,” my promise greater and lovelier than you could ever earn or deserve. A promise of hope and prosperity. But not just hope and prosperity as we understand it–the hope and prosperity of God Almighty, Creator of all things. A hope and prosperity infinitely more wonderful than the conceptions of our pygmy-thinking minds. The grandest of all hope and richest of all prosperity.

I thank You, Lord in advance and praise You for answering these, our prayers, and for fulfilling Your eternal promises.

I love you, friend. Have faith, you are already well.

signature



PRAY FOR CHRIS


chris1

 


 

2 comments

  1. Starr

    Thanks for sharing you words and experience of hope and redemption 🙂

  2. MJ shaw

    Amen sister!

leave a reply

