Creamy Coconut Milk Hot Chocolate & No-Flour Oatmeal Cookies

Okay, so balance is a big thing right? Don’t most of our goals really boil down to finding more balance? Well, eating less sugar is one of my goals. I like to think that eating no sugar is my goal. But that would be called an unrealistic goal. I’m pretty sure it was high school health class that taught me about the proper characteristics of goal-setting. A goal must be realistic and measurable. So, in my quest to ingest less (wow) sugar, I am not aiming to completely eliminate it, but to more healthfully satisfy my cravings and replace refined sugar with natural sugar–at least for starters.

Here are a few sweet things that satisfy without Glycemic Index explosion.


Creamy Coconut Milk Hot Chocolate

Ingredients
1 can full fat, unsweetened coconut milk
1 1/2 cup whole milk
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
2 tablespoons agave nectar or
1 heaping tablespoon honey
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 heaping teaspoon cinnamon (optional)

SAMSUNG

Directions
Pour coconut milk (coconut milk naturally separates, stir until smooth) and whole milk into a sauce pot on the stove. Heat on medium, stirring often, until fully combined and steaming.

If using cinnamon, and I suggest you do, combine cocoa powder and cinnamon in a separate bowl, mixing with a fork until fully incorporated. Add cocoa and cinnamon, agave (or honey) and vanilla to the milk.

Cocoa will likely clump. For added froth and creaminess, transfer the hot chocolate into a blender and pulse until froth forms, about 3 times.

Yields two big mugs, but recipe can be doubled for more.

SAMSUNG

+++

No-Flour Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients
3 cup whole grain oats
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/3 teaspoon ginger
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup apple sauce
1/4 cup coconut oil, softened
3/4 cup honey
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

SAMSUNG

Directions
Preheat over to 375 degrees.
Spread oats into a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake until lightly toasted, about 20 minutes, and cool for 3 minutes. Grind 1 cup the oats in a a food processor until roughly the consistency of flour, about 2 minutes. Add baking powder, cinnamon, and ginger to the food processor and pulse 3 times. Set aside.

SAMSUNG

Combine butter, apple sauce, coconut oil and honey with a hand-mixer on high until fully combined and creamy, about 3 minutes. Reduce mixer to lowest speed, add egg and vanilla extract. Mix to combine. Slowly add flour oat mixture until just combined. Add remaining toasted oats and stir to combine.

Scoop dough in heaping tablespoons into greased muffin tins, about 1/2 inch thick, and pat flat. Bake until edges begin to brown, 13 to 15 minutes, and rotate pan half-way through cooking. Cool 2 minutes then move to cooling rack to cool completely.

Yields about 2 dozen cookies. Mine baked out in an almost muffin-like consistency, soft and moist more than chewy or hard.

This is how I learned to use muffin tins, do NOT follow this example.

How I learned to use muffin tins… do NOT attempt.




This has been a Recipe Wednesday post.
Happy cooking. May health guide you.


signature

 


 

14 comments

  1. Yum! Full-fat coconut milk is my jam! I’ve been trying to cut down on sugar, although it seems like I have an explosion of brownies and vanilla ice cream and whiskey cocktails at my house every weekend. What gives?

  2. Yum and yum! I would have to use a milk substitute in the cocoa but I LOVE coconut milk!

  3. Presley Wesson

    yummy! haha, you should post the cauliflower recipe thing. Love you lots. Pres

  4. Both of those recipes look delicious! I have never tried coconut milk on it’s own, but enjoy coconut almond milk. I’m headed to France in a month and just know all the pastries will be my undoing.

    • Wow! France for a whole month! Completely jealous 🙂 Please eat many pastries for me as well. And coconut milk is delicious, especially when you buy it in a can and all the cream gathers together, so thick and delicious!!

  5. Those recipes look absolutely divine! That hot chocolate…I only have one question – whole wheat oats? Is that a typo, or is there really such a thing?

  6. I’ve been craving baked goods like nobody’s business lately. Each time I go to the store it’s an inner battle when passing the pastry case (except last weekend when I witnessed an old man coughing and hacking all over everything as he collected his croissants – yuck!). I’ll pass this recipe along, as I believe it’s (pretty much) paleo-friendly, and looks delish! Cheers to treats!
    http://summerharms.blogspot.com/2012/12/my-christmas-treat-king-size-chocolate.html

    • Oh daanng, those cookies look fabulous. And such a cute blog, thanks Katie. But I’m with you, my body just keeps begging me to eat some sugar and I’m like, work with me girl! Coconut milk is my new bestie though, check out this recipe for a chocolate mousse that tastes like it should be really bad for you.

      PS. Hahaha to old men hacking on croissants!

  7. I’m trying to cut down on sugars too. It’s so hard when I want to blog about orange chocolate cookies and Swedish pastries and such. sigh… 🙂

leave a reply

