Slow Cooker Chicken Soup and Sweet Potato Latkes

In North Carolina, we haven’t see the sun for days. Every morning is dreary and gray. The asphalt is wet. I’m carrying that uncomfortable feeling around my ankles as a result of my pant bottoms soaking up puddles. A snow storm is coming.

No better time for a hot bowl of soup.

Ingredients
3 chicken breasts, trimmed and chopped into medium chunks SAMSUNG
4 large carrots, chopped into coin-shaped pieces
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 cubes chicken broth, dissolved in 4 cups water
2 additional cups of water
1 small onion, chopped
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
coconut oil or butter

Directions
Saute onions and garlic in oil or butter on the stove until translucent. Put into crock pot, followed by the chicken, carrots, broth and spices.

Fill crock pot with remaining two cups of water. Add more water to just cover the contents, if necessary.

Cook on high for 4 to 5 hours. About 3/4 of the way through cook time, use a fork to shred the chicken into short strips.

Yields: plenty

SAMSUNG

While this soup is hearty, it feels a little naked all by its lonesome. Biscuits would be nice. But if you don’t eat grains, the bounty of delicious accompaniments suddenly becomes very small.

With sweet potatoes on hand, I hit the internet for an idea and landed on this one:

SAMSUNG

Sweet Potato Latkes
(a latke is a traditional, Jewish pancake usually made of shredded potato)
recipe adapted from Everyday PaleoSAMSUNG

Ingredients
2 medium sweet potatoes, grated
2 eggs
2 tbsp. onions, minced
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
coconut oil or butter
molasses


DirectionsS
Mix all ingredients, except the oil or butter, together in a large mixing bowl.

Heat a griddle or skillet over medium heat and melt a spoonful of coconut oil or butter. Using a 1/4 measuring cup drop potato mixture onto the hot griddle or skillet and press down gently into little “cakes”.

Cook for 3-5 minutes on each side or until golden brown and crispy and the potatoes are done all the way through.

Drizzle with molasses. For more about molasses, see this post and this post.

Yields: 8-10 latkes


This has been a Recipe Wednesday post.
Happy cooking. May health guide you.

signature

 


 

10 comments

  1. Amy Savage

    Yum! I think you might have a future in food photography also. Those latkes look devine, but grating those sweet potatoes looks a bit time consuming. Was it? I thought the chicken photo was a stock photo until I recognized the plate. Save us some.

  2. Oh, wow! I’m so happy to hear that it’s benefited your hubby so much, too! A friend of mine ate strictly Paleo for a month, and she raved about it. I just wrapped up a 21-day cleanse, which eliminated all sugar, dairy, gluten, caffeine, alcohol, and a handful of other common allergens. I definitely felt a difference in my energy from taking it all out. The Paleo diet seems like a pretty close equivalent to how I was eating. I’m off to check out your articles! 🙂 Thanks, Jane!!

    • WOW! I am so impressed. That takes serious discipline. Does that cleanse have a name?

      • The cleanse I did is called The Clean Program. You can order the kit, which I purchased when they had a major one-day sale a few months ago. Otherwise, there is a book that guides you through how to do the cleanse on your own making juices and smoothies. I did it last year, too, and loved it so much I knew I wanted to do it again. Here is the website, but they also have a blog with tasty recipes and great articles. If you’re interested, I have the book and would be happy to mail it to you.
        http://www.cleanprogram.com/
        http://blog.cleanprogram.com/

      • I just got off the website, it sounds great! Gosh, I would like to just buy the thing. Thank you for offering to mail it, you don’t have to do that, but such a sweet offer. The thought of just ridding myself of all that toxic build-up is very appealing. So disgusting that it ever builds up to begin with!

      • If you give it a go, let me know! By eating Paleo, you’re pretty close to eating how they recommend on the cleanse. Cheers to staying healthy and vibrant!

  3. Exactly the kind of comfort food my rain’n’bleh day needs 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  4. Oh, YUM! The sweet potato latkes sound so comforting and delicious! In Minnesota, it’s getting so cold I’m afraid my lungs are going to freeze shut – these sound like delightful treats for winter nights. Are you on the Paleo method of eating? Do you like it?

    • Yes, your post is a vivid depiction of that cold! Whew.

      I do eat Paleo. I’ve been doing it 2 or 3 months now and I am very pleased. It takes time to prepare food and I have to be creative, but my body thanks me. I’ve definitely noticed a difference in my energy and my husband, who has narcolepsy, has seen a big drop in episodes of drowsiness and neck pain. If you’re interested, I have a bunch of very interesting articles about the benefits on my Food page 🙂

leave a reply

