Butternut Squash Soup

Prior to this recipe, I had never even seen a Butternut squash in real life. Turns out, when you peel one a strange sticky residue seeps out and, in my case, completely dried out the skin on my left hand. Bizarre, but not enough to distract me from concocting the most delicious of soups.

When perusing for recipes, my husband was bent on this one with jalapenos. I am sure that’s fabulous, but all the other recipes seemed to treat Butternut squash more like pumpkin. So he finally conceded, and I attempted the recipe below.

I adapted this recipe from Taste of Home to fit more appropriately the contents of my kitchen. I can’t vouch for the original, but my recipe is truly a little mouth party. Unless of course you don’t like Butternut squash or basically any of the ingredients included.

This soup is richly creamy and lightly spiced, no one flavor overwhelms, deftly balanced. Remarkable, really. Unless you are my husband, who on day three of attempting to sneak it into his lunch, outright refused another meal of it.

The peeling and cubing are the most tedious parts, otherwise a breeze. Hope you enjoy!

before

Ingredients
1/2 large onion, chopped
2 tablespoons butter
1 medium butternut squash (about 4 pounds), peeled and cubed
5 1/2 cups beef broth
1 tablespoon molasses (or brown sugar)
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 package (4 ounces) cream cheese, softened and cubed

Directions
In a small skillet, saute onion in 1 tablespoon butter until tender. Transfer to a 5-or 6-quart slow cooker; add cubed squash. Combine the remaining butter, broth, molasses, ginger, garlic and cinnamon over heat to thoroughly mix; pour over squash. Cover and cook on high for 3-4 hours or until squash is tender. Can be cooked on low 6-8 hours.

In a blender, process soup in batches until smooth. Return all to slow cooker. Whisk in cream cheese; cover and cook 15 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.Β 

Yield: 2-1/2 quarts. Which means, plenty for two huge bowls and left overs for days.

after

Happy Cooking. May health guide you.


signature




Do you have a squash soup recipe you love or any suggestions to improve this one? Post a link or leave a comment!

 


 

3 comments

  1. Pingback: RW: Slow Cooker Chicken Soup and Sweet Potato Latkes « Raw Milk Marathon

  2. I made a huge pot of butternut squash soup last week – it’s such an affordable and nutritious meal! I’m from Minnesota, so we have bins and bins of squash available in stores and farmer’s markets well into the early winter. Lucky me for loving it so much! I often add wild rice to mine – it adds a nutty, hearty, earthy element. I had never thought of adding cream cheese (an addition that night make my Mr. Man want to take a bowl for his lunch). Bon appetite!

  3. Wow! Unusual mix of ingredients, but I bet it is delicious! Will have to try it.

leave a reply

