The One About Bustin’ Up Insecurity

Very often, I don’t post because I feel like I don’t have a stance to take on anything. Or I don’t have any ground-breaking research to share. Or I haven’t been to Central Asia taking photographs of the natives. (See Freshly Pressed for those articles).

I support having goals. I believe we need the greats to keep us motivated.

Most of the time, though, we are all pretty average. We live pretty average lives, often at a deskΒ  or at home with kids. We wake up earlier than we’d like, we eat, we work, we eat again and we go to bed a little later than we’d like. We go to the grocery store and we watch TV every now and then. Sometimes we cook and sometimes we defrost a pizza.

Sometimes we feel like we should do more with our lives. Maybe we get discouraged because it seems like the rest of the world is uncovering ground-breaking research and photographing natives.

Sometimes I even feel as if I ought to feel that I should do more with my life. Not that I actually feel compelled to do more in my own regard, but that the world and my seeming perception of it is pressuring me to believe I am not enough as I am.

I have fought a long battle with this insecurity, its ugly head rearing up and dragging me down into its toxic lair.

And somewhere down in that dark place, I’ve found that the single most dangerous threat to my security is comparison.

Talk about bad habits. You bite your nails and don’t refill the toilet paper roll? Well I constantly analyze my life in comparison to others in order to determine my value and worth in the world.

Here’s a message for you, Self:

There are beautiful people doing incredible things on this planet. People who are discovering cures for terminal disease. People who are sharing the Gospel in remote African villages. People who are raising handfuls of children. It’s good for you to respect and admire their work.

But you are doing work too, work that looks very different from that. You are loving your husband. You are lending an ear to your friends. You are giving a home to homeless animals. You are praying for your community. You are conserving energy and caring for the earth. You are providing for your household. You are smiling at strangers and driving patiently. You are cultivating a warm and inviting home. You are preparing nourishing food for your family. You are defeating lies and fighting for truth. You are rejoicing with others.

That crap matters. Don’t let the airbrushed world tell you otherwise.

Much love,Β 
The Holy Spirit

So if you’re floundering around in an ocean of lies, just stand up; the truth is right under your feet. You’re more than you’ve believed. The work you’re doing is significant. All we’re asked to do is love, and if you’re doing that, you’re doing good. You’re changing the world, one little spec of dust at a time.

And a lot of little dust specs make up everything.

So be encouraged today.

signature

 


 

6 comments

  1. And let me add…you are encouraging others right here, right now!

    I think you are an amazing writer! When I read your “About”…I was just in awe…talking about comparisons…my thought was why can’t I write like this? This woman is incredible and expresses herself in such a unique way…And then to read here that you have insecurities too… ?

    I really have enjoyed reading your blog… Insecurities really can really paralyze us…It’s a battle and it looks like most of us have to face it and overcome. But then that is what we are called to be…overcomers…and we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us!

  2. Ahhhh! This post is so important and, ironic as it seems, I sincerely hope it gets Freshly Pressed. I think every person has struggled with feeling less than and not enough. Heard about your sweet blog from Truth & Cake and I’ll be sure to follow from now on πŸ™‚

  3. judy ludwick

    Needed to read this! Thank you!

  4. beautifully said. Thanks so much for sharing. We have so much to live for. I’m still wondering where scripture says, 40 hour work weeks, just to get insurance for our selves and family is the appropriate answer. It stinks, because by the time the world gets home from work, their seconds are for their family because they gave their firsts to their daily routine. You have such a beautiful heart and even though I barely know you Jane, I’m beyond blessed by you. Thank you for opening up your home to me this evening. I’m excited to see what God has in store. Much love sis!

leave a reply

